let me introduce to you…

…a deeper, darker obsession.

The 5th gen Toyota Celica All-Trac/GT-Four (ST185)

As some of you may know, I own one of these ultra-rare vehicles (’92), and have been obsessed about it since before I could drive. That was about 14 years ago. I know, I’m old. I’ve had mine for a decade now, and have been toying with the idea of going nuts with it. Unfortunately, I’m a poor, frugal bastard (read=cheap), apparently with priorities. With a family and a home, my obsession must stay inside my head, or on light mods here and there. But help me god, if I lose my inner jew (no offense to my hebrew friends), or come across some major dinero, this is what the outcome would look like…maybe a bit more nutty. But that’ll be too much nut. See the reason below.

On the outside, she looks fairly tame. But this is by far the most extremely built All-Trac in the United States. The owner, who goes by Alltrac101 in the forums has been pretty secretive about the build, but some basic info is well known about this beast in “secretary’s clothing.” I won’t go into much detail on the car, but I’ll tell you that she pulls around 868hp & 579lbs of torque @ 7k rpms. Oh, did I mention it does the 1320 in 10.1 @ 143mph??!!

To top that off, this monster had just done the standing mile in an impressive 209.851mph!! Insane considering this car still runs a stock Celica GT-Four 5-speed tranny (with baller Tilton triple plate clutch of course). Besides an OEM designed carbon hood and garage special front lip, the aerodynamics are pure 17 year old Toyota design. No need for big GT wings, diffusers, or Voltex canards over here. There’s just something about the way this Celica looks that no four door sedan could ever beat, ever. And I love Lancers & Impreza’s. This car is truly in a class for the elite, without having to scream and yell “look at me, I’m so JDM tite yo!!” I hate those morons.

So why don’t you go ahead and do a youtube search under his username. I’m still surprised that non of these so-called “tuner” magazines have ever featured this guy. Probably because it’s not a GTR, Evo, or STi. Or even an over-the-top Honda. Most people still can’t believe how brilliantly understated this thing is. Some may even claim that it’s a little too much for an “old” Celica. Although you have to admit that this generation Celica was way ahead of it’s time as far as performance and exterior design. I would definitely express my deepest hatred if I ever get my brown ass handed to me by this insured/registered, street legal, stock looking, sub 10-second, 200mile per hour Toyota from the nineties.

Long live Toyota of yore!!

Mr.Cid

Photos are property of Alltrac101.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. GiuseppeAE86 says:

    Yea i know we are poor bastard with cars that ppl want n dream of doing. Lets say hopefully we win the jackpot and we can do what we love the most (well in a hobby way).

  2. mrcid says:

    Man, even winning the jackpot is a dream. If we work hard enough, maybe we’ll be able to afford the real Spam instead of Luncheon meat from walmart. hahaha

Leave a Reply

